area striata

Insekten und Säuger: Die Kleinsten und die Größten

Die Artenanzahl der Insekten in Costa Rica kann nur geschätzt werden und geht in die Hunderttausende. Allein an Schmetterlingsarten sind bisher über 1000 bekannt. Mit über 300 Arten (die Hälfte davon Fledermäuse) nehmen sich die Säugetiere dagegen bescheiden aus.

Käfer [beetle-1.jpg]+

Käfer

Käfer (Coleoptera) bilden eine der größten Gruppe der Insekten und umfassen weltweit ca. 350000 Arten. Wieviele davon in Costa Rica vorkommen lässt sich nur schätzen
Schmetterling [butterfly-2.jpg]+

Schmetterling

Eine der über 1000 Schmetterlingsarten Costa Ricas. Fotografiert bei Carrillos in der Nähe von Alajuela.
Rüsselkäfer [weevils-2.jpg]+

Rüsselkäfer

Das müsst ihr euren Kindern selbst erklären...
Faultier im Tortuguero Nationalpark [sloth-1.jpg]+

Faultier im Tortuguero Nationalpark

Eine der eigenartigsten Kreaturen, der man beim Reisen in Costa Rica begegnet, ist das Faultier. Von den zwei in Costa Rica heimischen Arten ist das Braunkehl-Faultier (Bradypus variegatus) aus der Familie der Dreifingerfaultiere ...
Faultier im Tortuguero Nationalpark [sloth-3.jpg]+

Faultier im Tortuguero Nationalpark

Ihren Aufenthalt in den Bäumen verlassen die Faultiere nur ca. einmal pro Woche um Kot und Urin abzusetzen. Zu ihrem Schutz hat sich bei Faultieren eine ungewöhnliche Tarnung entwickelt: in den Rillen ihrer Haare siedeln Algen, ...
Faultier am Rio Sarapiquí [sloth-5.jpg]+

Faultier am Rio Sarapiquí

Fast das gesamte einzelgängerische Leben der Faultiere findet mit dem Rücken nach unten, an einem Ast hängend, statt; Die gebogenen Klauen fungieren als Haken. Das Fell ist an der Bauchseite gescheitelt, um den Regen leichter ...
(c) Frieder Edelhäuser 2005

area striata

Insects and mammals: The smallest and the biggest

The number of species of insects living in Costa Rica can only be estimated but counts some hundred thousands for sure. There are more than thousand of butterfly species alone. Compared to that the more than 300 known species of mammals (half of them bats) take a back seat.

Beetle [beetle-1.jpg]+

Beetle

Beetles (Coleoptera) are one of the main groups of insects. Around the world there is a estimated number of about 350000 species. How many of then are present in Costa Rica can only be estimated.
Butterfly [butterfly-2.jpg]+

Butterfly

One of more than 1000 species of butterflies living in Costa Rica. The photo was taken close to Carrillos near Alajuela.
Weevils [weevils-2.jpg]+

Weevils

You have to tell your children by yourself...
Sloth in Tortuguero national park [sloth-1.jpg]+

Sloth in Tortuguero national park

One of the strangest creatures you will meet while travelling in Costa Rica is the Sloth. The Brown-throated Three-toed Sloth (Bradypus variegatu) or three-fingered sloth from the family three toed sloths (Bradypodidae) is one of the two ...
Sloth in Tortuguero national park [sloth-3.jpg]+

Sloth in Tortuguero national park

Sloths come to the ground, to urinate and defecate, only about once a week. Their fur exhibits specialised functions: the outer hairs grow in the opposite direction to that of other mammals (so as to provide protection from the elements ...
Sloth at Rio Sarapiquí [sloth-5.jpg]+

Sloth at Rio Sarapiquí

Sloths have made extraordinary adaptations to an arboreal browsing lifestyle. Leaves, their main food source, provide very little energy or nutrition and do not digest easily: sloths have very large, specialised, slow-acting stomachs with ...
(c) Frieder Edelhäuser 2005